The Perfumer: Scent of Triumph - Jan Moran

The Perfumer: Scent of Triumph

By Jan Moran

  • Release Date: 2020-11-10
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 42 Ratings)

Description

A young French perfumer. A world at war. A personal vengeance that could destroy a family.
A must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah and Kate Quinn! *From a USA Today Bestselling Author*
“A sweeping tale that transports readers from the lavender-scented fields of Provence to the pulsing boulevards of Paris… Heartbreaking, evocative, and inspiring, this book is a powerful journey.” – Allison Pataki, New York Times Bestselling Author of Sisi and The Accidental Empress

Europe, 1939: At the dawn of World War II, French perfumer Danielle Bretancourt and her German husband strive to ensure their family’s safety, yet neither can foresee the ultimate cost. From London to Paris, Danielle struggles to find her missing child and aid the French Resistance, even as she grieves her losses.

As the war intensifies, Danielle is forced to seek refuge in America to save the lives of her remaining family. She draws on her skills as a talented perfumer to lift her family out of crushing poverty. Yet even as she forges a new life among the Hollywood elite, she cannot forget her child nor the man who risked everything for her. Even an ocean away, she discovers that safety remains an illusion.

Set between privileged lifestyles and gritty realities, The Perfumer is one woman’s story of courage, spirit, and resilience. Originally published by St. Martin’s Press, this beloved, bestselling saga has returned. Other historical sagas by Jan Moran include The Chocolatier, The Winemakers, and Hepburn’s Necklace.

Praise for The Perfumer: Scent of Triumph

“A novel that gives fans of romantic sagas a compelling voice to follow.” – Booklist

“A stylish, compelling story of a family. What sets this apart is the backdrop of perfumery that suffuses the story with the delicious aromas – a remarkable feat!” — Liz Trenow, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Forgotten Seamstress

“A sweeping saga of one woman’s journey through World War II and her unwillingness to give up even when faced with the toughest challenges.” — Anita Abriel, Author of The Light After the War

“A gripping World War II story of poignant love and devastating, heart-wrenching loss.” — Gill Paul, USA Today and Toronto Globe & Mail Bestselling Author of The Secret Wife

“Jan Moran is the new queen of the epic romance.” ―USA Today Bestselling Author Rebecca Forster

“A captivating tale of love, determination, and reinvention.” — Karen Marin, Givenchy Paris

“Utterly inescapable. Jan Moran’s masterful romance comes with a bonus: she interweaves this romantic tale with a behind-the-scenes look at perfumery.” ―Allegra Jordan, author of The End of Innocence

“An epic journey with the most resilient of heroines as our guide. It is a story to savor, like the most beautiful of perfumes…riveting from start to finish.” — Samantha Vérant, Author of Seven Letters from Paris

“Hard to put down…captivating. A ‘must-read.’” — Marvel Fields, Chairman, American Society of Perfumers

“Courageous heroine, star-crossed lovers, splendid sense of time and place capturing the unease and turmoil of the 1940’s; HEA.” — Heroes and Heartbreakers

“A thoroughly engaging tale, rich in all five senses.” — Michelle Gable, Author of A Paris Apartment

“We were spellbound by the thread of deception weaving the book's characters into a tangled web, and turned each page anticipating the outcome.” — The Mercury News

“A heartbreaking yet exquisite tale of tribulation, adventure, and heroism all intertwined in the strength of a woman.” — Night Owl Reviews

“Will appeal to anyone who enjoys historical romance. Filled with love, loss, struggle, triumph. Moran writes in such a way that you will feel as if you were transported back to the era. Her characters are interesting and well developed. Very unique, an enjoyable read.” ―Rebecca’s Reads Review

“Drawing heavily on the author’s own experience, a dedicated look into the history of the world of fashion. Recommended.” ―Midwest Book Review

Comments